2014 Oscar Nomination Predictions

12 Years a Slave

List compiled by Eddie on 13/01/2014

With Oscar nominations soon to hit its that time of the year again when we all try and predict just how the movie industries night of nights will look. Holding off predicting some of the more technical categories (mainly due to still waiting down here in Australia to actually see the films) below are my predictions for the key awards on offer. In a somewhat lesser year it’s clear that a mere few films are really likely to make a play on the night with it being highly likely that 12 Years a Slave cleans up with Gravity scooping the tech side of the night.

* – detonates win

# – detonates 2nd place

Best film -

American Hustle

Gravity#

12 Years A Slave*

Philomena

Dallas Buyers Club

The Wolf of Wall Street

Captain Phillips

Inside llewyn Davis

Nebraska

Best Director -

Alfonso Cuaron – Gravity#

Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave*

Martin Scorsese – The Wolf of Wall Street

David O Russell – American Hustle

Paul Greengrass – Captain Phillips

Best Actor -

Chiwetjel Ejofor – 12 Years a Slave#

Matthew McConoughoughy – Dallas Buyers Club*

Robert Redford – All is Lost

Tom Hanks – Captain Phillips

Bruce Dern – Nebraska

Best Actress -

Judi Dench – Philomena

Amy Adams – American Hustle

Sandra Bullock – Gravity#

Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine*

Emma Thompson – Saving Mr. banks

Best Supporting Actor -

Jarrod Leto – Dallas Buyers Club*

Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips

Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave#

Daniel Bruhl – Rush

James Gandolfini – Enough Said

Best Supporting Actress -

Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave*

Julia Roberts – August Osange County

Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle#

Oprah Winfrey – The Butler

Octavia Spencer – Fruitvale Station

Original Screenplay -

American Hustle*

Her

Inside Llewyn Davis

Blue Jasmine#

Nebraska

Adapted Screenplay -

12 Years a Slave*

The Wolf of Wall Street

Captain Phillips

Philomena#

Before Midnight

 How do these predictions stack up to your thoughts? Have a few standouts been wrongly omitted? Let us know in the comments below

 

46 responses to “2014 Oscar Nomination Predictions

  1. Great list. I agree, Am Hustle by far the best screenplay of the year. Jerrod Leto will probably get supporting, but Michael Fassbender was beyond amazing. Hands Down Cate Blanchette in Blue Jasmine, but you’d think Sandra Bullock deserves something.

    Picture: To The Wonder, Place Beyond The Pines, Fruitvale Station,

    Actor: Christian Bale – Am Hustle, James Franco – Spring Breakers,

    Supporting Actor: Jonah Hill – Wolf of Wall Street

  2. Strong list you guys. I would make a serious argument for ‘Her’ in Best Original Screenplay. I was blown away by that one.

  3. Great list! I’m going to have to agree with Tom on Best Original screenplay! I haven’t seen Dallas Buyers Club, but from you’re choice and what i’ve heard it but have some damn good performances because I was hoping/thinking 12 years would take the two actor spots.

  4. I’m surprised that you gave Saving Mr Banks only one nomination for Emma Thompson, although I haven’t seen the film yet. I hope The Selfish Giant gets some nominations (and I’m hoping awards!!) as it was my favourite film of 2013 and was truly fantastic.

  5. I like and agree with your prediction! :) hoping it goes well, recently saw 12 years a Slave i hope it gets what it deserves! and the actors too

  6. Great job with choosing Octavia Spencer for Fruitvale Station. She was great, but wheres the love for Michael B Jordan? You are taking quite a risk with Oprah WInfry. I didn’t think she had a chance, but I could be wrong.

    • He was fantastic as well Vern but gee the talent in best actor us just to intense, was hard enough leaving Leo out but the Academy seems to not quite love him as much as the public.
      Eddie

      • I am stoked to think of the love being shared around like the Globes did, it’s nice to see a wide range of talent get some glory not just one film on the night.
        Eddie

      • Agreed !! That seems to be the tendency of late, gone are the days when one movie will sweep it all à la “LOTR: Return of the King”. I think “12 Years a Slave” will win Best Picture but might end up winning as many awards as “Gravity” and “American Hustle”… anyway, I shouldn’t get ahead of myself, the nods aren’t announced yet!! Haha!

      • I got a feeling 12 may even come away with just a Best Picture win, but If the Academy chooses it as there love it should clean up all major awards.
        Eddie

      • Oh my! I ended up nailing it for the 2nd year in a row with my Best Picture nominees! Yay! I’m geekily happy :)

        http://wattsatthemovies.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/oscars-2014-mes-predictions-des-finalistes-dans-la-categorie-meilleur-film/

        Based on the nods today, 10 go to American Hustle, and 9 to 12 years… so I’m not sure that there’s as much love as I hoped. The love is so strong for Hustle that Christian Bale beat out Robert Redford/Tom Hanks’s presumed spot, and Bradley Cooper took Daniel Bruhl’s spot! This is going to be a VERY interesting Oscar race…

      • Awesome work man! We will have to get working on our final predictions now of who will actually win each slot.
        I must say not overly impressed with the overabundance of American Hustle noms, like Silver Linings I think hype has taken it further than it really deserved to go. Oh well! Who am I to judge ha :)
        Eddie

  7. These seem like solid predictions, but do you have any on the other categories as well? i’d especially be interested in your thoughts on which would win best visual effects, Gravity or the Hobbit 2.

    • Normally I would mate but I feel I was still missing a few to many movies to comment rightly on those tech nods. Having seen those films though I think Gravity deserves every last tech nod it can muster.
      Eddie

  8. Great nom/prediction list Eddie. Agree with many of your picks!

    Still some big ones yet to be released in the UK (Wall Street, Dallas Buyers Club, Her, Llewyn Davis) so it’s still a bit up in the air for me.

    Gutted Blue is the Warmest Colour is ineligible for a Best Foreign Language Film nom, thoroughly deserving. Maybe it’ll get a Best Picture, but that’ll be down to how many films they choose. I’d love to see Adèle Exarchopoulos get a Best Actress nod – she was incredible.

    There’s some amazing talent in that Best Actor category. One day (but probably not this year) DiCaprio will get his due.

    • Can not wait for next week here in Aus Consumed when Wolf finally arrives! Her is this week so would love to catch that and Llewyn Davis also.

      I can not wait for Leo to finally get a statue one of these days so many performances he has given over the years are worthy and Wolf looks no different.
      Eddie

  9. Great list. I just saw the actual Oscar noms and saw that Leonardo Dicaprio got a nomination. That made me the happiest. Inside Llewyn Davis only got one nomination (another surprise).

    • I am glad Leo got in! He is always a tad underrated by the Academy. Very weird about Llewyn Davis obviously wasn’t the flavour of the month but I guess the Coens trophy cabinet may be full by now anyway.
      Eddie

  10. So, what are your predictions for who’s going to take the Oscar home? If I was going purely by the stuff I’ve read on social media sites (which is always reliable, as everyone knows. xD)… I’d say Alfonoso Cuaron for Best Director. American Hustle or Wolf of Wall Street for Best Picture. Matthew McConaughey for Dallas Buyers Club, although I really hope DiCaprio wins. Amy Adams or Sandra Bullock for Best Actress. Jared Leto or Michael Fassbinder for Best Supporting Actor. Jennifer Lawrence for Best Supporting Actress. (This pic said it best: http://2.media.collegehumor.cvcdn.com/69/72/7df5f13843001ba6c4201afacd017649.jpg )

    And I hope Frozen will win for animated feature. That movie is great. Anyways, that’s all I’ve gathered, and I think if I go into detail on my predictions for Best Makeup, it’ll be marked as spam. :P

    Oh, by the way, I noticed you put my blog on your recommendation list. Thanks a lot for that, and I’ve screenshot it so I can prove it to people. Now they HAVE to believe me.

    ~Jian

    • Going to be tough to call this year Jian, Jordan and I will have to sit on it for a while and see how the pre awards hype is but I reckon on the night it could be every film for themselves! I would love to see Cauron individually recognised (especially after his Children of Men snub) and McConaughey get the win.

      Good you grab a screenshot of the recommendations mate as they do change on a regular basis to give readers an idea of some great other bloggers we like, glad we can link up though and show some support.
      Eddie

  11. I am also betting on 12 years a slave for best movie, and cate blanchet and fassbender :) I haven’t watched any of the movies yet, though. Not all are out here yet :/ But from watching the trailers I sometimes can get a feeling for movies :D

    • I have been waiting o so patiently for 12 Years a Slave, I loved Solomon’s autobiography on the ideal and the movie just seems amazing. I have a feeling the only award it will win come Oscars is Best Picture but in the end that’s the one everyone wants.
      Eddie

  12. Go Leonardo DiCaprio!! I really want him to win, but then again I really want him to continue acting as if he is trying to get his first Oscar. He was great in Django and he didn’t get it and he was even better as Gatsby (his eyes when he spoke to Daisy *.*), but he was extraordinary in Wolf of Wall Street. Come on, Academy!

    And this is the kind of movies, like 12 Years a Slave or Wolf of Wall Street that should be in the race for Oscars, not the scifi kind, like Gravity. Call me old fashioned, but for me, the Oscars are about storytelling and acting, not about special effects and floating around in space.

Leave a Reply

