Eddie’s Top 30 Movies of All Time

inline-An-Offer-You-Can't-Refuse-Leadership-Lessons-From-the-Godfather

Everyone has their own taste in films. Like all art forms one film can mean something to someone and nothing to another. After much deliberation and fussing I can now produly present to the people my Top 30 of All Time. Missing on the list are undoubtably many a classic and much loved films, but I feel confident that this selection represents some truley great and well made pieces of film art.

These films for better or for worse are reasons why I love cinema.

Eddie’s Top 30 of All Time

Eddie

20 responses to “Eddie’s Top 30 Movies of All Time

  1. Well, well J&E… I came close to cursing you out when I saw Into the Wild on your top 30 list! However, you did manage to redeem yourself with the classics The Prestige and Jaws!

  2. Oh Rumpley, Into the Wild is very much a well made and well told story but each to there own! Good to hear the Prestige mentioned in the same sentence as “classic” no better word for it. (Eddie)

  3. Some interesting stuff on your list, but it feels kind of narrow in scope. Not interested in more films outside of Hollywood or earlier than JAWS?

    • Hey Lewis – as a child of the 1990’s there is no doubt I have seen more recent films that older films. I have Psycho on my list which was made well before Jaws and to me is one of the rare classics that still really holds up to todays standards. Interested to hear some of your personnel favourites. (Eddie)

  4. Good that you share your 30 favorite movies, it’s a good way for readers like me, to get a spark of interest on watching movies that I may have not consider before, or that unfortunately never made it to my country’s theaters, like “The station agent”, “This is England” or “Man in a wire”.
    “The Three Buries of Melquiades Estrada”, is a movie I have only seen once, and probably won’t watch again, mainly because it’s a story so well told, that just like you mentioned, it’s hard to watch!

    Thanks for following! I’ll be reading you too!

    • Alot of those films you mentioned that may not have been properly released in your country are well worth chasing up. Always great to witness a fantastic film from a far off country πŸ™‚ appreciate your comments. (Eddie)

  5. I’d loved your choices πŸ˜€ And the site is gorgeous!! How did you get a PDF on your site kinda thing? Is there a way to put uploads onto WordPress? I’m such a noob with the site πŸ˜› Also, is the way the things are laid out in the Jordan’s Space and Eddie’s Space sections part of the layout? Sorry for all the questions πŸ˜› I love your choices btw πŸ™‚ I’ll recommend your site to my friend because she loves all the same films as you haha πŸ™‚

  6. Enchanted – it’s quite easy to add a PDF just go to add media when you are making your post. The layout that we are using is a straight up version from wordpress πŸ™‚ Look forward to hearing from your friend always a nice moment when you come accross someone that has similar tastes in film. (Eddie)

  7. I loved your list of why you love movies, much of which found me nodding my head along.

    Honestly, you can’t go wrong with Godfather and Shawshank high on the list. Children of Men is also a great pick, if a bit high for my tastes. Such a beautifully dark film, however.

    Definitely surprised to see The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford on there. I remember liking it quite a bit, but as #4 film of all time? Not at all.

    Stoked to see Man on Wire getting such high placement. One of the finest films ever made, never mind in the documentary genre.

    I love the diversity of your list; there is a damn good bit of range here.

    You’re clearly a Brad Pitt fan, which isn’t a bad thing. Vastly underrated actor since his pretty boy image overshadows his talent. I really need to see The Tree of Life.

    Great list and work!

  8. Nice to hear your thoughts Milambc. Glad to hear your agreeance in regards to Shawshank and The Godfather – in my opinion nothing could be added to make those films better.

    In regards to Jesse James – I still to this day am blown away by the beauty and structure of this film, seeing it on the big screen was a true cinematic joy that I find all too rare these days.

    Man on Wire as you say is not only a great doco but a fantastic film in any right – one of the great entries to the heist film canon.

    Lastly Mr. Pitt – as you say his looks may detract from the fact that one look at his filmography suggests the man is a real genius actor. He not only picks varied film roles but works with a fantastic collection of big and small directors which has paid dividends. Check the news on 12 Years a Slave, could be another modern masterpiece that he is involved in. Happy rading mate. (Eddie)

  9. Milam.. do not watch the tree of life if you have anything of the faintest interest to otherwise occupy your time.

  10. Fun list. Love Tree of Life and some others on the list. Some I need to watch. I love a good movie!

  11. glad to see a documentary (man on wire) and a tv show (friday night lights) on the list! I love that you grouped these genres together and considered them all simply films. great list, and thanks for following my blog!

    • It’s good to judge all films on what the set out to achieve, only real way to enjoy them I think. Man On Wire really is a fantastic film, and Friday Night Lights really was good enough to inspire a great TV show. Happy Reading (Eddie)

  12. Hello there I am so thrilled I found your blog, I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Google for something else, Regardless I am here now and would
    just like to say thanks for a tremendous post and a all round
    entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

Leave a Reply

