Film Review – Identity Thief (2013)

Identity Thief

Title – Identity Thief (2013)

Director – Seth Gordon (Horrible Bosses)

Cast – Jason Bateman, Melissa McCarthy, Amanda Peet, Morris Chestnut, Jonathan Banks

Plot – Financially struggling accountant and family man Sandy Patterson (Bateman) has his identity stolen by annoying unforgivably unlikeable women Diana (McCarthy). As his credit cards become more and more over drawn and his very future threatened Sandy must track down Diana before it’s too late. Cue mismatched buddy road trip.

“I just want to be upfront and say I visually enjoy you.”

Review by Eddie on 12/08/2013

You’d think the rule of thumb for a comedy would have to be to be funny wouldn’t you? I think the rule of thumb here with director Gordon and scriptwriter Craig Mazin was to make the most annoying and unfunny comedy this side of Movie 43. Identity Thief is a pure endurance test to sit through, a comedy in which it’s leads do all they can do to make you feel no sense of likeability or reliability what so ever.

First up we must talk about Jason Bateman – Jason please get yourself a new agent! Ever since storming back into popularity with his turn as Michael Bluth in Arrested Development Bateman has continued to play the same character over and over and over again all the while being in average forgettable films – remember the Change Up? Remember The Switch? Remember Couples Retreat? If you answered no to those films don’t feel bad your life is all the better for it. Batemans character of Sandy Patterson here is made all the more frustrating because he should be more passionate about his cause the way in which he treats the dire Diana is just face in palm of hand inducing as any normal human would not be so lovely. Now we must talk about the elephant in the room (no pun intended) that is McCarthy.

Bursting straight to popularity with her quite frankly hilarious scene stealing showing in Bridesmaids McCarthy like Bateman thinks it’s quite ok to repeat the same character traits over and over and over, watch anything from This is 40 to The Hangover Part 3 for proof of this. Identity Thief offers up McCarthy’s most annoying and unlikeable character to date – are we supposed to feel sorry for a character that ruins decent people’s lives? Are we supposed to laugh at Diana singing annoyingly along to songs on the radio? How on earth McCarthy or anyone involved in this movie thought her acting display here is funny is beyond belief.

If you want to laugh at a well written comedy do not watch Identity Thief. At years end if there were such a thing as the Top 10 Most Annoying Movies of 2013, Identity Thief would be sitting proudly at number 1, well ahead of all other contender’s.

P.S – Any movie that wastes Mike (Banks) from Breaking Bad like Identity Thief does is a bad one in my books.

Half a credit card out of 5

18 responses to “Film Review – Identity Thief (2013)

    • Who knows! His sold his film soul to the big studios – as you said King of Kong was a classic, supposedly his in works to make it into a feature film lets hope he doesn’t destroy that! (Eddie)

  1. As an actual victim of identity theft, I have a hard time imagining such a movie could possibly be funny. When I saw the trailer, I already knew it had to be a bad idea, so I’m glad I didn’t see it.

    • I can only imagine! I thought that as I watched “How is this even slightly funny?” Just a bad idea for a movie made into an even worse one on finished product. (Eddie)

  2. I agree with the review. I didn’t enjoy the film and it’s so sad to see Jason Bateman in a crap film. Also I don’t think that Melissa mcarthy is funny in any of the films she is in. She just seems off putting, don’t really know why and has terrible jokes. To be honest I enjoy brakhages work more than this and that is saying something.

    • Sadly both those actors are just running with the same characters in all there films! It would be great to see them realise the talent they have but it was surely not with this stinker. (Eddie)

  3. Yeah, I found nearly nothing funny at all about this one. My wife however has become a fan of McCarthy and she did laugh a good bit. Thanks Eddie.

    • It must be said those of the female persausion seem to enjoy Melissa a sight bit more than us man – saying that though I found her hilarious in Bridesmaids. Thanks for stopping by Gene (Eddie)

  4. I avoided this film too because I got most of what you talked about just from the trailer. Having been a fan of Bateman from ‘Arrested Development’ and a fan of McCarthy from ‘Gilmore Girls’, it’s such a frustrating shame to see both of their comedic talents wasted on some of the lazy movie writing. At least I know I made the right choice by not watching this.

    • Pat yourself on the back the right choice was made without question on avoiding this turkey – it’s sad it made so much money at the box office meaning there is possibly some form of sequal or copy cat not to far away..ekkk (Eddie)

  5. I saw this because it was my girlfriend’s turn to pick the movie and – while I can’t explain exactly why – I liked it a good deal more than I expected to. Strangely, though, it’s hard to disagree with anything you said and I did find it hard to empathize with McCarthy’s character at all…yet there I sat in the theater, laughing in spite of myself.

  6. Pingback: The Best and Worst of 2013: Eddie’s Take | Jordan and Eddie (The Movie Guys)·

  7. Pingback: Film Review – Spy (2015) | Jordan and Eddie (The Movie Guys)·

  8. Pingback: Film Review – The Gift (2015) | Jordan and Eddie (The Movie Guys)·

  9. Pingback: Film Review – The Boss (2016) | Jordan and Eddie (The Movie Guys)·

Leave a Reply

