Film Review – The Lego Movie (2014)

lego - post

Title – The Lego Movie (2014)

Directors – Phil Lord and Christopher Miller (21 Jump Street)

Cast – (voices of) Chris Pratt, Elizabeth Banks, Morgan Freeman, Will Ferrell, Will Arnett, Alison Brie, Liam Neeson, Jonah Hill, Channing Tatum

Plot – Welcome to the world of Lego where everyday construction worker and loner Emmett (Pratt) is thrust into a journey that will determine the fate of the world as he knows it thanks to the evil Lord Business (Ferrell).

“Come with me if you want to not die”

Review by Eddie on 11/04/2014

Look at the risk of sounding like some type of Grinch everything is not awesome with The Lego Movie, perhaps the first ever movie to be 100 minutes of pure product placement marketing at its finest and a movie that gives all new meaning to the word ADD.

Visually fantastic and designed in an absolutely flawless way there is no doubting that The Lego Movie is a feast for the eyes and in many senses a throwback to the age in which I am sure we can all remember, the Lego years. Tapping into what might just dwell in all of us the movie does bring out a feeling of nostalgia when it comes to the many pieces of yellow bricks we have all spent time with and it’s a credit to directing duo Miller and Lord that they worked so hard with the team at Animal Logic in Sydney Australia (yay go Australia!) to produce such a detailed and thriving world but with that you get the feeling someone forgot to make an engaging or in any forms original story.

Filling the film with a formidable voice cast which includes the man of the moment Chris Pratt, Morgan Freeman, Liam Neeson, Elizabeth Banks and Will Ferrell amongst many others it’s sad to say that the actual characters here are not that endearing. What makes an animated movie like Toy Story or The Lion King such a joy for ages young and old is its ability to tell a meaningful story with a bunch of characters that go beyond their existence as animated beings and The Lego Movie doesn’t do this. Emmett is a lame excuse for the antihero and other characters are all cookie cutter caricatures from better movies. With the characters hard to fall in love with the story also fails at producing the goods with it way too confusing for any child under the age of 10 and with a motto that seems to be throw as many jokes at the screen in as short a time as possible the film suffers from a desire to be funny far too often.

No doubt appealing to many people the world over (reviews and box office clearly attest to this) and as a kid I can imagine this being a pure visual joy, The Lego Movie is also a sad reminder than it many ways the simplicity of animated tales has been hijacked in favour of a sugar riddled tale that sadly works for children of the modern age whose attention spans are shorter than a goldfish’s and want everything faster and sooner than ever before. Great work by the marketing gurus at Lego and Animal Logic, they must be laughing all the way to the yellow bricked bank.

2 and a half bricks of Lego out of 5

33 responses to “Film Review – The Lego Movie (2014)

  1. Have to totally disagree with you here. I don’t think its fair to compare it to Toy Story and Lion King. I think it should be compared to other silly comedy films out there. And you could argue that there’s more product placement in Toy Story then in this!

    • Interesting man I think there is far far more product placement in this from do characters through to TMNT, I loved the animation but didn’t dig everything else in it.
      Eddie

  2. ^ I agree, “it should be compared to other silly comedy films” instead. I guess like what Eddie mentioned, it does bring a feeling of nostalgia – remembering those Lego years when everything’s bright and all. It’s fun for the kids and kids alike but we

    • I would much prefer to bring out some Lego and build something than watch this one again I think, I pity the parents that will have it on loop with their kids.
      Eddie

  3. ^ I agree, “it should be compared to other silly comedy films” instead. I guess like what Eddie mentioned, it does bring a feeling of nostalgia – remembering those Lego years when everything’s bright and all. It’s fun for the kids and kids alike – visually but yes, it’s full off bollocks.

  4. I liked the film. Ho hum story with one or two holes, but by and large I found it to be fun with great voice casting. Things sort of take different meanings however mid film which is a bit weird.

    But a nice start to what I am sure will be a mega franchise now in film. Nice review.

  5. Loved ‘The Lego Movie’. Thought it was zany, beautifully shot and totally fun for anyone, no matter the age. Was a definite surprise to kick off 2014, and unfortunately have to disagree here and give it a 4 out of 5.

  6. The type of animated movie that is pleasing for everybody. Maybe moreso for the older ones out there, but that still doesn’t mean it’s not pleasing to watch. Because it totally is! Good review Eddie.

  7. Watching animated movie about Lego does bring some nostalgia from childhood, but I admit that I didn’t see any point of producing this movie, except like you said for the product placement. And I have to say that I fell asleep. It just wasn’t enough for me.

  8. I completely agree with why you didn’t like it, but I found it refreshing – a film that doesn’t take itself entirely seriously, while retaining depth and a sense of fun. I gave it three out of four, but it could easily drop lower given a few more viewings! Good review, per usual.

  9. I have to agree with the comment that Toy Story seems more about product placement. Lego is one brand. As someone with kids (they love the different Lego movies and video games and, of course, the bricks themselves), it wasn’t so much about nostalgia for me. It was my kids’ first movie theater experience (maybe that helped), but I was laughing and having a good time, which is what I was hoping to get out of the film. I actually look forward to the movie coming out on DVD to be able to put it on at home.

  10. As a kids movie, this definitely was merely an eye-feast for them. As a young adult who grew up with the Lego brand, the movie really got to me (especially the ending), which is what boosted my star rating for this. I must say too I enjoyed a lot of the jokes made. A lot of product placement for what may be a dying brand, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

  11. I found The Lego Movie very powerful and touching. I’m serious, for me the point wasn’t the toys or trying to sell them, the point was that creativity breaks boundaries.

    I’ll admit that I may very well be reading something into the film that the makers did not intend. However as a writer who mixes genres and doesn’t play by the rules I felt very validated. It didn’t make me want to go out and buy Legos, it made me want to go back to my writing and make up whatever stories I feel like writing, and screw doing what anyone else things is the right way to do it.

    • Mate cheers for sharing your thoughts. It’s fantastic to hear how movies of all shapes and sizes can inspire someone or affect them in some way. While I didn’t at all love the film I can really appreciate it unlocking some creative spark within someone.
      Eddie

  12. Pingback: 2015 Oscars: J and E’s Overview and Final Predictions | Jordan and Eddie (The Movie Guys)·

Leave a Reply

