Film Review – I, Frankenstein (2014)

I Frankenstein - post

Title – I, Frankenstein (2014)

Director – Stuart Beattie (Tomorrow, When the War Began)

Cast – Aaron Eckhart, Yvonne Strahovski, Miranda Otto, Jai Courtney, Bill Nighy, Caitlin Stasey

Plot – Victor Frankenstein’s monstrous creation now known as Adam (Eckhart) is drawn into a war between gargoyles led by the kindly Leonore (Otto) and the demon prince Naberius (Nighy).

“I am a demon prince, kneel before me!”

Review by Eddie on 7/08/2014

We are often asked in our life if we want the good news or the bad news first and more often than not the hearing of good news would be the more sort after option. Taking that into consideration it is only fair that we start off this review of Stuart Beattie’s Gothic fantasy I, Frankenstein with the good news, which it must be said is in extremely short supply. The good news here is that this movie wastes no time in getting started, like the script has had a direct drip injection of Red Bull. Within the first 10 minutes there is talk of Satan and his nasty little demons, gargoyles, there is bad CGI fighting and it’s been decided that Victor Frankenstein’s non-human creation should now be called, Adam (I mean really, Adam?). The other good news is that this cheap looking film was filmed right here in Australia’s backyard in Melbourne, so hopefully the local economy got a little boost. Now onto the bad news, which unlike the good is in steady, full flowing supply.

Watching I, Frankenstein makes you question just how on earth this movie was even made, my only answer is someone must’ve done a mighty good pitch job to studio executives convincing them that audiences were just frothing at the mouth in anticipation of seeing Aaron Eckhart deliver the years worst gruff voiced performance, badly animated gargoyles battle endlessly with even worse looking demons and a script over burdened with horrendous dialogue. The bad news is that really most elements of Australia’s very own Stuart Beattie’s (following up from his equally shocking Tomorrow, When the War Began) film are beyond a joke.

While not familiar with the source material of I, Frankenstein, I would take a leap of faith and declare that the graphic novel would surely have a better handle on dialogue and story exposition than Beattie and the novel’s writer Kevin Grevioux have come up with on screen. What should be a bad taste guilty pleasure journey, filled with wit and charm is instead bludgeoned over the head by Adam’s demon slaying sticks with downright laughable acting, a cheap and nasty production design and a screenplay taking the whole affair far too seriously. Where is the fun to be found in a story so ridiculous and plot hole ridden (where may I ask are the citizens of the city where this story takes place?) that it could be written by a 10 year old boy? Sadly the fun is not here.

Arguably the worst thing about I, Frankenstein (bar the wasting of it’s well known cast who would all probably wish to have this film erased from their CV and sent straight to the bad film underworld) is that there are tiny glimmers of what just could have been, small moments of thrills or heart that suggest there was a film to be made from this material. Despite these faint showcases there is no real doubting that I, Frankenstein is one the years worst films. Another one for the bad news tally then.

1 stony demon slaying gargoyle out of 5

26 responses to “Film Review – I, Frankenstein (2014)

  1. It wasn’t a good movie, but there was a nice idea there, following the creature after the events in the original story. The execution of the idea, however… I have to wonder if they couldn’t have taken a different approach, separating it from the Underworld aesthetic and designs.

    I do love that it was the first time I saw eskrima / kali stick fighting on screen. Something different… even if it lasted less than a minute.

    • I definitely think the idea at the core of this story could of been a decent movie if nothing more than a great guilty pleasure but all the feeling I could get was it was half baked in execution. Eckhart’s performance didn’t help though.
      Eddie

  2. I’ll be honest, I couldn’t finish this movie. Nothing really kept my attention. Totally bummed, too, because Eckhart is a cool dude. VERY rarely do I not see a movie through. Shame on you I, Frankenstein

    • I don’t know how I sat through it all man but I think it became funny after a while and I just wanted to see how bad things could get. I felt sorry for all involved.
      Eddie

  3. I started to watch this movie the other day and left it really quickly – right around the naming of “Adam” – I was going to get back to it but I think maybe I’ll check out the graphic novel instead. Disappointing cos I really like Aaron Eckhart.

  4. Good review Eddie. The movie wasn’t just so serious, it was just dull. Though it did have some small moments of fun, they were very few and far between.

  5. Totally agree with your review. Bill Nighy was the single redeeming factor for me (when is it not a joy to watch him?). I recall during the promotional days the movie talked about its Dolby Atmos sound effects – one was supposed to feel the wings flapping around… it had so much potential.

      • I would love to know what possessed Aaron to agree to star? He’s a well known actor especially after Dark Knight. Does he need money so badly? I understand the crank it out theory of the crew that makes these movies. But Aaron?

      • I agree. Lately I have begun seeing actors beyond the American veil of commercial royalty. A kind of wall of delusional has been shattered, acting is a job and a lot of choices for actors are made with money in mind. I know it’s a simple concept yet just recently it’s become obtusely obvious.

  6. Pingback: The Best and Worst of 2014: Eddie’s Take | Jordan and Eddie (The Movie Guys)·

  7. Pingback: Film Review – Victor Frankenstein (2015) | Jordan and Eddie (The Movie Guys)·

Leave a Reply

